Navigation
Home Page

English Home Learning

English Home Learning

Hello Year 5! Every morning you will have a virtual English lesson which you will need to watch so you know what to do for each activity. Please record all English work in your homework books and send us photos. You also have a comprehension activity to complete on a Monday and Wednesday, as well as a Grammar, Spelling and Punctuation activity daily. We are also setting Reading 2do's on Purple Mash daily. Please make sure you read the text and answer the questions carefully.

 

Week beginning 1st March

World Book Week

On Thursday 4th March 2021 it is World Book Day. We are going to celebrate our love for reading ALL week. Every day, you will have a different activity to complete - we will explain each activity in our morning Zoom meetings. Below you will find an overview of the week with all of the activities on. Please complete your daily tasks and send Miss Brain or Miss Long your work via Purple Mash email.

Friday 26th February 2021.

 

LO: To edit and up-level my writing.

 

In English today, you are going to finish writing your formal letter. When you have finished, you are going to edit and up-level your letter. Make sure you read through each sentence carefully. Check the following and edit (with a green pen/pencil if you have one)

- Does it make sense when you read it out loud?

- Are capital letters, full stops and commas used correctly?

- Is your spelling correct? If you are unsure - check in a dictionary/online

- Have ALL S2S been used correctly?

- Have you used Letterjoin handwriting and joined every letter correctly? If not, write up a neater version of your letter.

 

When you have checked all of these steps, you are going to up-level your vocabulary. 

Thursday 25th February

LO: To write a formal letter.

Wednesday 24th February

LO: To plan a formal letter.

Tuesday 23rd February

LO: To infer using evidence from the text.

Monday 22nd February

LO: To make a prediction.

Leon an the Place Between

Please listen to the whole story being read before completing today's task.

Friday 5th February

LO: To write a summary and gist of what I have read in my own words.

Friday 5th February Miss Cartwright

LO: To write a book review.

Thursday 4th February

LO: To write a setting description.

Thursday 4th February Miss Cartwright

LO: To write a setting description.

Wednesday 3rd February

LO: To plan a setting description.

Wednesday 3rd February Miss Cartwright

LO: To plan a setting description.

Tuesday English Starter

Tuesday 2nd February

LO: To explore WAGOLL

Tuesday 2nd February Miss Cartwright

LO: To explore adjectives

Monday 1st February

Friday 29th January

 

LO: To edit and up-level my writing.

 

In English today, you are going to finish writing your newspaper report. When you have finished, you are going to edit and up-level your newspaper report. Make sure you read through each sentence carefully. Check the following and edit (with a green pen/pencil if you have one)

- Does it make sense when you read it out loud?

- Are capital letters, full stops and commas used correctly?

- Is your spelling correct? If you are unsure - check in a dictionary/online

- Have ALL S2S been used correctly?

- Have you used Letterjoin handwriting and joined every letter correctly? If not, write up a neater version of your newspaper report.

 

When you have checked all of these steps, you are going to up-level your vocabulary. 

Thursday 28th January

LO: To write a newspaper report.

Thursday 28th January Miss Cartwright

LO: To write a newspaper report.

Wednesday 27th January

LO: To plan a newspaper report.

Wednesday 27th January Miss Cartwright

LO: To plan a newspaper report.

Tuesday 26th January

LO: To identify the features of a newspaper report.

Monday 25th January

LO: To make inferences.

Friday 22nd January

 

LO: To edit and up-level my writing.

 

In English today, you are going to edit and up-level your set of instructions. Make sure you read through each sentence carefully. Check the following and edit (with a green pen/pencil if you have one)

- Does it make sense when you read it out loud?

- Are capital letters and full stops used correctly?

- Is your spelling correct? If you are unsure - check in a dictionary/online

- Have ALL S2S been used correctly?

- Challenge: does your relative clause make sense and does it have the correct punctuation?

 

When you have checked all of these steps, you are going to up-level your vocabulary. 

Thursday 21st January

LO: To write a set of instructions.

Miss Cartwright Thursday 21st January

LO: To write a set of instructions.

Wednesday 20th January

LO: To plan a set of instructions.

Tuesday 19th January

LO: To identify features of instructions.

Monday 18th January 2021

Friday 15th January 2021

LO: To perform a poem.

Thursday 14th January 2021

LO: To learn a poem.

Wednesday 13th January 2021

LO: To write a poem.

Tuesday 12th January

LO: To comment on how and why an author has used certain words.

Monday 11th January 2021

LO: To answer questions based on what I have read.

Friday 8th January 2021

 

LO: To edit and up-level my writing.

 

In English today, you are going to edit and up-level your character description about Leon. Make sure you read through each sentence carefully. Check the following and edit (with a green pen/pencil if you have one)

- Does it make sense when you read it out loud?

- Capital letters and full stops

- Spelling

- The same tense has been used throughout

- ALL S2S have been used correctly

When you have checked all of these steps, you are going to up-level your vocabulary. 

Thursday 7th January 2021

LO: To write a character description.

Wednesday 6th January 2021

LO: To explore a character.

English Lesson 2

English Tuesday 5th January 2021

LO: To make a prediction based on evidence.

Top